Views
Helpful
Replies

Needs basic help with asa5505

k.lundgren91
Level 1
Level 1

Hello!

I just started my new job at a company ( finally made it to change my line of work it IT )!

Here's the problem, They have already setup a working network before me and my boss wants to keep that network working but i need to set up a basic switch to asa5505 to connect a ( atm only one but will be more hence the switch ) ftp server to it and grant it access to internet but im new to this kind of gear *still learning*.

SO i was hoping someone has a bit of free time over and can guide me to open that switch to the internet but still closed off to the rest of the network without f'ing up the old config.
Yeah and btw, would be easiest / best if i could do it from COM port because thats how it's connected atm
Sincerely New guy!

11 Replies 11

Do the FTP servers need to be accessed from the internet or do they just need access to the internet?  Also, what license is your ASA running (Base license or security plus license).  Issue the show version command to get this info.

is it a layer 3 switch or layer 2. and how many subnets do you have in your network.  Do they just need to be seperated from the FTP servers or also from eachother?

--

Please remember to select a correct answer and rate helpful posts

--

the ftp servers is going to be used as online storage for all employees so i guess only accessed from the internet.

Base License

Is there a command i issue to get you all the info you need? 

Sincerely

Are you going to place the server in a DMZ so you can filter traffic for internal users also or will it be placed on the inside network?

--

--

i want it to be placed outside all networks for security reasons and there is no reason to have it internal since the company server computer will have another network cable going to the internal network on differnet subnet, But ill try to not make a fool of myself by making this:
Server 1 will be for employees only