Replies

Novice vs Pix 501... fight!

mfaerber1
Level 1
Level 1

Hardware:
Sun Enterprise 250 Server
Cisco Pix 501 Firewall

Hello everyone, I am brand new to what I am trying to do here, so I'd greatly appreciate any hints. I am trying to troubleshoot a problem where our website goes down almost every day. I believe the firewall is the problem because if I unplug it from the wall for a couple minutes, and plug it back in, everything will work again. We do not get a lot of traffic; I suppose hackers are possible... I'm trying to learn pix device manager 3.0, but I guess what would really help me is I could somehow see the error messages that are presumably saved somewhere right before the site goes down.

Any hints for a desperate novice? I'll post whatever info you need to help me...

Here is a possible hint:  I have two Pix 501's because it was assumed that one of them may have gone bad. I'm not sure about that, but they do both do the same thing in that if I turn or bumb the power cable going into them, the VPN tunnel light will temporarily come on. This seems very suspecious to me. I have taken it apart and everything SEEMS ok...

5 Replies 5

Scott Nishimura
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

hello.

You will probably want to turn on logging to a syslog server.  This will basically send the log messages to the server which you can review at a later time.  I'm not sure what version you are running on the pix 501, but i will send you the link for the 6.x config guide.

Syslog set up on pix 6.x:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/security/pix/pix63/configuration/guide/sysmgmt.html#wp1119533

You can google search for kiwi syslog and download that syslog server for free.

regards,

scott

Thank you Scott, yes, I am running the pix on v6.3.

Logging is already enabled. The PIX error file only contains about six entries from a few months ago. The Pix warning file contains hundreds of entries from today back to August.