Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. And see here for current known issues.

Problem with upgrading a 5520 in cluster with multiple contexts

Hi all,

First off all I will introduce myself. I'm Johnny Jonker and i'm a senior network engineer who focus himself on routing and switching (cisco) and security (Checkpoint, Fortigate).

Every now and then I have to face a customer who has ASA's as their primary firewalls, a product I don't have a broad knowledge from. Right at this moment there is a problem at one of those customers regarding an ASA5520 cluster with multiple contexts, and this is why.

The image that are on the ASA's is 8.4(1). The ASA's are directly facing the WWW and because of known exploits/bugs (Ddos) I wanted to perfrom an upgrade, in multiple steps, to the 9.1(2) image. My first step was to upgrade the devices towards 8.4(6) and make the step to 9.X from there on. I performed the following steps to do this:

-Copy the images form a TFTP server to disk0: on both hardware devices

-Changed the bootvar to point towards the new images.

-saved the changes to flash

-Gave the "failover reload-standby" command on the active unit

-Waited till the passive unit was standby and the active unit synch'ed his configuration

-Gave the "no failover active" command on the active unit.

-Logged in on the new active unit and gave the "failover reload-standby" command

-Waited till both devices were up and running with synch'ed configurations