Views
Helpful
Replies

Query regarding Cisco ASA ACLs

Mahi Gurram
Level 1
Level 1

Hello All,

I just started learning Cisco ASA firewall and i got stuck up while understanding  Cisco  ASA's ACL configurations and  your insight and help in this regard is  highly appreciated.

Refer the below image to understand my query better:

CiscoASA_ACL.jpg

My Networks Details:

Network behind LAN Interface - 172.16.0.1/255.255.0.0

Network behind DMZ1 Interface - 192.168.50.1/255.255.255.0

Network behind DMZ2 Interface - 192.168.1.1/255.255.255.224

Scenario 1:

Now i want to write an ACL (ACL_INSIDE) for the input traffic of LAN Interface. Hence i'm planning to configure my access-group as below:

access-group ACL_INSIDE in interface LAN

My problem is, i couldn't understand, what that input traffic to LAN interface refers to?

Is it Traffic A (as mentioned in the above image - On LAN Interface) or Traffic B (as mentioned in the above image - On LAN Interface)  or both?

Say Traffic A alone refers to input traffic of LAN interface: (Refer the below scenario and correct me if i'm wrong)

In this case, in all of my ACL_INSIDE ACEs, SRC IP should always be the Original IP of my LAN Network and DST IP could be of anything.

Also can i use the public IP of my LAN interface as a SRC IP in ACL??

Sample ACL: (LAN Network -> 172.16.0.1/255.255.0.0)

Valid ACLs:

access-list acl_inside permit tcp host 172.16.0.24 192.168.50.25 eq ftp

Invalid ACLs:

access-list acl_inside permit udp any host 172.16.0.4 eq ntp

access-list acl_inside permit udp any host 62.16.0.4** eq ntp
** 62.16.0.4 is the public IP of 172.16.0.4

Say Traffic B alone refers to input traffic of LAN interface: (Refer the below scenario and correct me if i'm wrong)

In this case, in  all of my ACL_INSIDE ACEs, DST IP should always be the Original  IP/Public IP of my LAN Network and SRC IP could be of anything.

Sample ACL: (LAN Network -> 172.16.0.1/255.255.0.0)

Valid ACLs: