Views
Helpful
Replies

connecting two LANs

Vergil_Ace
Level 1
Level 1

Please,

I plan on connecting two LANs together via. the internet (public resource). The LANs are across town.

The computers on each LAN will be able to access other(some) computers on the other LAN (and vice-versa), they will still be able to connect to the internet. Basically, they will be able to share resources (files, application etc.)

Undergone some research regarding this, was able to find out that having a VPN connection will be a good way to go. But I have no full knowledge on what hardware I will need. How to start exactly.

If VPN is actually a good way to go, please let me know (maybe some other alternatives).

If I can get a good picture of what to do, will be very happy.

Please, can someone lead me in a good direction. Thank you.

7 Replies 7

kamal-learn
Level 4
Level 4

hi

first using a public network like internet without any security i mean encryption is not recomemded ,what i would suggest is to use a VPN tunnel between both sites,so you can configure your routers with the appropriate ios software to build the tunnels, but if you have to connect a huge sites the best way to go is the use of a VPN concentrator 3000 series, if one of the two sites has less that 250 client you can use a client VPN concentrator 3002 series .

HTH

do rate if it does clarify

desai.jaideep
Level 5
Level 5

Hi

First of all lets focus on the end points connectivity part.What is the internet terminating onto?Say if its a leased line or a Ethernet or ADSL, then you can directly terminate it onto a cisco router.If its a ethernet connectivity, then I would recommend PIX or ASA.

Secondary we come to the tunnels,i.e, the link between both the offices which should be encrypted.This tunnel will be your pipe.Though a PIX/ASA by default support VPN tunnels and encryptions,you need to have that K9 IOS into the router.