cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Help with 837 Config.

txcowboy99
Level 1
Level 1

I have a Cisco 837 (brand new) I am trying to set it up via the CRWS but all it does is just sit there tell me that it is 'Checking the Model, the IOS and the Features' and that's it! It doesn't go any further. I've tried it with IE and Firefox and left it for many hours, but still no change.

Where do i go from here? Many thanks.

16 Replies 16

nhabib
Level 9
Level 9

Are you using Windows XP by any chance? I believe there are issues with it (due to missing Java Virtual Machine).

You will need Java Plug-in 1.4.2_05 or later, or Java Virtual Machine (JVM) 5.0.0.3810

Yep, I'm using XP. I visited Java.com and downloaded the latest JRE and that fixed it for me, but it is still very flakey. I did manage to get the 837 configured but have a few questions.

I am just a beginner with all this stuff, but I did a 'show running config' and noticed that there are 2 default usernames setup in the router. Kanaan and something else and they have something to do with level15. How can I delete these accounts?

Hello,

as CRWS appears to be rather buggy, SDM is a replacement for CRWS. Go to www.cisco.com/go/sdm and download it there.

As an alternative, and if you are using IE6, you might want to install the Microsoft Virtual Machine, you can download it at www.craftof.com/VirtualMachine.asp, uncheck the Sun Java VM in IE6.

HTH,

GP

Thanks for your help GP. I'll take a look at SDM. I grabbed MS JVM from your site as well, I've been looking for that for a while.

Thanks again.

I downloaded SDM and tried it but to no avail. I'm hoping someone can help walk me through setting up this 837 from the CLI. I have been able to test the login ID and password for the ISP as well as the phone line, so I know all that is OK.

I have all the details I need, I just don't know the commands to set it all up.

Many thanks in advance.

Try this for size:

!

version 12.3

no service pad

service tcp-keepalives-in