Views
Helpful
Replies

INTERNET ACCESS

soumik1979
Level 1
Level 1

Dear all

I am a network admin of a small comp.We  have around 100 users.Right now we have flat network off all unmanaged  switches.We have web serever, database server and file server.Users use  web applications and file servers.We have an asa 5510 and a cyberoam  .The some users have internet and mail access.Others dont.All the normal internet users have the default   gateway address is the address of the cyberom where internet access policy was imposed.Some high end user and the servers has the address of ASA 5510 as the gateway.Now we are shifting to a new office.I have planned vlan with layer2 and layer 3 switch.My question is that if I create VLAN for each dept., then each department will have a difference IP scheme.Now how I can configure the internet access of the users.I dont want to use proxy becoze outlook is not working with proxy.

Please help me with the suggestions.

Soumik Mondal

4 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

I am providing my VLAN diagram.Now  my questionis that,My fire wall or UTM device will have the IP address of  192.168.9.X/24.Diffrent users will be there in different VLAN.Now if I give the default gateway of the internet users as 192.168.9.X/24,it will not work Then how it can be done.

Please Help

Soumik,

As per the diagram i can suggest two type of network design

1) Making 3750 l3 switch as gateway for different depat.

2) Making firewall as default gateway for different depat.

what i see is 2960 l2 switches are connected with 3750 L3 switch which in tunrs connected with firewall and then internet router for outside world.If yes then kindly clarify that :-

All the vlans required internet access or only specific let say HR dept and where is the natting configuration is done in firewall or in router ?