Views
Helpful
Replies

MAC Entries in 'Mac Address Table' of Switch

azmunnabi
Level 1
Level 1

Hi All,

I am new to CCNA and doing with switching part currently.

I am facing issue in understanding how is the entries in the MAC address table of the switches are made.

What I know is: MAC addresses in MAC Address Table of switches is the MAC of hosts which are directly or indirectly connected to the ports of those switches.

Please explain the MAC adresses in the MAC address table of the switches corresponding the scenario below:

================

3 Switches (2960 - 24TT) are connected. Say Switch A, Switch B and Switch C.

Switch A (Gig Eth 1/1)  connected to Switch B (Gig Eth 1/1)

Switch B (Gig Eth 1/2)  connected to Switch C (Gig Eth 1/1)

'sh version' command displays the below Mac Address of the Switches:

Switch A: Base ethernet MAC Address  0010.113C.D2EE

Switch B: Base ethernet MAC Address   000A.F3D5.09BD

Switch C: Base ethernet MAC Address  00E0.8FDE.01A1

Other input:

Switch A is in VTP Server Mode. It has 3 Vlans (Default + 2).

Switch B and Switch C is in client mode.

No Host is connected to any of the switches.

Below is the output of 'Mac Address Table' of the Switches:

Mac Address Table for Switch A:

Vlan Mac Address Type Ports

1       0090.2b2e.5501       Dynamic       Gig1/1

2       0090.2b2e.5501       Dynamic       Gig1/1

3       0090.2b2e.5501       Dynamic       Gig1/1

Mac Adress Table for Switch B:

1       0060.2f32.c801        Dynamic       Gig1/1

1       00d0.d3da.e501       Dynamic       Gig1/2

Mac Address Table for Switch C:

1       0090.2b2e.5502       Dynamic       Gig1/1

2       0090.2b2e.5502       Dynamic       Gig1/1

3       0090.2b2e.5502       Dynamic       Gig1/1

Can Some one please explain:

To which interface the MAC (of MAC address tables) belongs ?

Mac Address in the Mac Table is not of any siwtches ( As per 'sh version'), also no host is connected to any switch ports.