cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

NAT, Bridged IP addresses and HSRP

klevy
Level 1
Level 1

I am relatively new to routing so please excuse what may seem like some dumb questions.

I'm trying to get my hands around what happens with my Cisco 871 router when working with a /28 subnet of public IP addresses bridged by my ISP through a DSL router. From the configuration recommendations and SDM setup, I am setting this unit up as follows:

interface FastEthernet4

description WAN INTERFACE$ETH-LAN$

ip address 11.22.33.241 255.255.255.240

ip nat outside

ip ips sdm_ips_rule in

ip access-group 101 in

interface Vlan3

description PERIMETER - FRONT RAIL

ip address 192.168.10.2 255.255.255.0

ip nat inside

ip nat pool FrontRail 192.168.10.0 192.168.10.255 netmask 255.255.255.0

ip nat inside source list 1 interface FastEthernet4 overload

access-list 1 remark SDM_ACL Category=2

access-list 1 permit 192.168.10.0 0.0.0.255

ip nat inside source static tcp 192.168.10.11 80 11.22.33.242 80 extendable

ip nat inside source static tcp 192.168.10.11 21 11.22.33.242 21 extendable

ip nat inside source static udp 192.168.10.11 50052 11.22.33.242 50052 extendable

Now my questions:

1) Why does the router pick up the packets destined for 11.22.33.242 when it only has the address 11.22.33.241 on the FE4 (WAN) interface?

2) Can I set up, using an IP statement with "secondary", a second /28 subnet of public IP addresses (from a second ISP) on the FE4 (WAN) interface? Can I set up a separate set of NAT destinations for these and will the router sort out the traffic? What I am working towards is using DNS round robin scheduling of inbound traffic between two ISP's. I'll set up two different internal addresses to NAT to for each of the services and assign the two addresses to each of the services running in the perimeter network.