cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

New at this

jmlack728
Level 1
Level 1

When it comes to the Cisco world, I am new at this. At our business, we have a number of Cisco switches, mostly 2950's, 24 & 48 port. Up to now, we've basically been using them as hubs. Is it my understanding that we can configure them so that we can isolate ceratin ports for certain computers? Case in point. I would like to isolate our accounting department so that only their server and the five computers in their department only have access to their computers. But, I want these computers to be able to talk to the rest of the world. And I want to be able to get to them if I need to perform any updates of upgrades to them. Can I configure the 2950 switch to do so? And if so, where do I start?

4 Replies 4

scottmac
Level 10
Level 10

Sounds more like a homework assignment ;-)

Yes, you can configure independent groups of ports that are isolated from each other, the more common term these days is VLAN (i.e., "Virtual LAN").

A VLAN is a broadcast domain, like an independent switch or hub ... only the ports all reside in the same box. Treat each VLAN like a free-standing, independent switchor hub.

The bad news is, they (VLANs in a 2950)*are* independent groups of ports and, as such, do not talk to each other without some sort of connecting device. Most common would be a router.

Other choices, depending on your desired level of security would be a firewall (could permit the accounting folks access to the Internet or Corporate network but restrict inbound traffic to the accounting dept).

Another choice would be multiple interfaces to a common server. Many / most server-class OS (MS, Linux, Unix) would permit youto talk to one VLAN from another in the same fashion as a firewall (MS would likely be something like IAS, unix/linux would be some flavor of firewall process).