Views
Helpful
Replies

New to Cisco

rcfosta26
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I am new to cisco products and was wondering if somebody could tell me or lead me in the right direction on what cisco products i would need for my project. Here is the situation:

Building A and building B are 20ft apart. There will be 10 offices in each building. I would like to use a cable connection for my internet. I would like each office to be on a seperate lan segment 20 total. What will i need to reach my desired results, Routers, Switches,extenders. Any help is greatly appreciated Robert

3 Replies 3

a.hajhamad
Level 4
Level 4

- What is the internet connection (Fiber, E1, LEased Line, or ADSL)?

- What applications will be in this network?

- Are you concerning with High Availability?

- Are you using IP telephony?

- how many servers in your network and these servers will be installed in the two building?

- No security devices are needed (PIX firewall)?

- Are you interesting with remote access like dialup or VPN?

Regards

Abd ALqader

The owners want to be able to sell internet access to the other business renting out space. Each business will have various needs some more technical and others will just need internet access. I just want to be able to seperate each business office so that no one wanders.

I would like to use a cable connection but if i must i will use a t1.

There will be various applications. There will be 20 different business of various nature ranging from construction to accounting.

There will be no ip telephony

Each office will be a different business so potentially 20.

A firewall is a must.

2 of the business will want to access a ftp server and have vpn access when away from the office.

Robert

We can list products as follows:

Access switches either 2960 or if you need layer 3 switches like 3560 with number of ports required. In your case, you can use

WS-C2960-24TT-L (Layer2 Switch)

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/ps6432/index.html