Views
Helpful
Replies

Newbie: Static Route

john.holder
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I'm new to cisco routing and have a question..

I have a PC that uses VPN to connect to an outside source. After connecting via VPN, the PC doesn't recieve ANY packets.

I called tech support and they said that I needed to configure a 1 to 1 static route.

I assume this means that I route one of our public IPs to this PC.

I have a cisco 3600 Router. How do I configure this?

Then, when I configure the PC, do I have it a static public IP, or a NAT address?

Thanks for all your help!

9 Replies 9

desai.jaideep
Level 5
Level 5

Hi

Can you give the config. and the output where you are not getting input packets?

Regards

JD

jcutler0622
Level 1
Level 1

Well if you have the ip address scheme already set up the configs for the router would look like this.

router>enable

router#config t

router# ip route ( this is an example) 192.168.1.3 255.255.255.252

router#exit

router#wr mem

Then that should be it.

And yes a static route is a route from one device to another that is manually configured.

As stated before if you show me a scrub config I can help more.

Wow. You guys are amazing. Such friendly folks! :)

Okay, so

ip route

That's it.

I've attached the config

Thanks for your help!

Yes that would be it, you also need to make sure that you don't have a firewall or any ACL (access lists) on the router that would block this static route. Let me know how it turns out or if you need anymore help.

Hi

I am not seeing any VPN setting reflecting in your configuration.Is this the running-config of the router after the VPN config?

Your internal routing in dynamic through EIGRP.Though you can still add a static route but if you add your VPN network into your EIGRP config. , this will solve the purpose for you.

I would recommend to take help from someone if you are uncomfortable because you are sitting on a live setup and any wrong change can spell a disaster for you.

Regards

JD