cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

newbie with one small question

cornercuttin
Level 1
Level 1

im brand new to cisco, and ive just purchased a catalyst 1900 to start learning on.

im trying to get some switching started, and i cant seem to get things working.

what i did was create an ip address for the switch, which is the same ip address for interface 0/1. interface 0/1 goes to the gateway router and then out to the internet(so that we are clear, switch ip = interface 1 ip). the gateway has a static ip, and i have 5 allocatable statics(sticky ip) after that. so the switch has its own static ip(i made sure to set the ip default-gateway on the cisco switch).

i then set interface 2 ip to a different ip address and then connected that to a linux system with that static ip.

from the linux box, i can successfully ping the switch, the gateway, and anything else with an ip address. but i cant seem to get internet access on this linux box. i can successfully ping, but when i fire up the browser, i get nothing.

any ideas. i really appreciate it. i know theres something that im missing. ive got my book in front of me and ive followed all of the steps, but this stuff is all written for simulations, so its a little different.

thanks a ton.

5 Replies 5

Roberto Salazar
Level 8
Level 8

From that linux system are you able to ping sucessfully a valid ip address in the Internet? If so, and you can't open a website that uses Domain Name, then check the Linux's IP stack, maybe you forgot to configure the DNS Ip address, the server that will handle the domain names translation to IP address.

ok, turns out i cant ping out on the internet.

i can tell you what commands ive entered

ok, the gateway is xxx.xxx.xxx.238

i have 5 other ip's, 233 - 237

i have the cable going from the gateway switch into the first port on the switch. theres another ethernet cable going from port 2 to the linux box.

into the switch:

ip address xxx.xxx.xxx.236 255.255.255.248