Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Community Member

NM-16ESW module (newbie)

Cisco 2651XM router with

wic-1adsl card

just fitted an NM-16ESW module

as a newbie I'm embarrassed to say I don't know how to connect this module to my network. I had an external hub (connecting several PC's) that went into port f0/0 but I'd like to transfer all those wires into the the NM-16ESW module but none of the PC's will connect to the internet.

The CLI shows the module as f1/0to16 and SDM shows all 16 sockets as 'up'. Do I plug the cable from f0/0/ into the switch? or is the connection internet? I can't find a quick-connect guide anywhere. Thanks for any pointers.

7 REPLIES

Re: NM-16ESW module (newbie)

Please take the opportunity to read the document at the following link, it discuss the EthernetSwitch Module in greath length including configuration:-

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/ios/12_4/interface/configuration/guide/h1636nm.html

Refer to the section How to Configure the EtherSwitch Network Module.

Hope this helps..

Rgds

Allan.

Community Member

thanks, I saw that document before posting but it's massive and it put me off. I was hoping there might be a friendlier quick-guide somewhere.

I can appreiciate that, configuring the module is similar to that of configuring a Cisco Access switch with inter-vlan routing.

However, if you are not familiar with this, then this too will prove difficult to comprehend.

I assume the IP address are static or sourced from the gateway already using DHCP?

If you are using DHCP then I suspect that your fasthernet interface has IP address on the same LAN, therefore this IP address would require configuring as your L3 vlan interface.

Pls post the configuration?

Here are some quick guide example steps..

Configure your user vlan and vtp mode.:-

vlan database

vtp transparent

vlan 100 name Data-VLAN

Configure your L2 Interfaces:-

interface fastethernet ?/?

switchport

switchport mode access