cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

reset router password

mattsoftnet
Level 1
Level 1

I have a cisco 1601 router. I'm trying to reset the password over the console port, but I'm having some trouble, I've never done this before. I'm trying to follow the directions in a pdf I found, but the router is saying the config-register command doesn't exist.

Easton>confreg 0x142

Translating "confreg"

% Unknown command or computer name, or unable to find computer address

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Matt,

You need to issue the 'confreg 0x2142' command in the rommon mode. If you are in rommon mode the prompt would be something like rommon1> instead of Easton>. To get to rommon mode just reboot the router and press the key combination for Break Sequence on the terminal keyboard within 60 seconds of the power-up. Pay close attention to the steps and do not skip any steps to avoid problems.

I am sure you have the correct document to perform a password recovery. Just in case, here's the link for it.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/routers/ps214/products_password_recovery09186a0080093e11.shtml

Good Luck!

Regards,

Sundar

View solution in original post

2 Replies 2

Matt,

You need to issue the 'confreg 0x2142' command in the rommon mode. If you are in rommon mode the prompt would be something like rommon1> instead of Easton>. To get to rommon mode just reboot the router and press the key combination for Break Sequence on the terminal keyboard within 60 seconds of the power-up. Pay close attention to the steps and do not skip any steps to avoid problems.

I am sure you have the correct document to perform a password recovery. Just in case, here's the link for it.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/routers/ps214/products_password_recovery09186a0080093e11.shtml

Good Luck!

Regards,

Sundar