cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Seeking advice for a scenario

bnelson01
Level 1
Level 1

Hi everyone I am currently a student pursuring my CCNA and one of the things we need to do is a case study. What I've got is a building that is going to use 3 subnets out of a given address space of 192.168.100.0/24. Looking for advice on what router (or routers if more than 1 would be better) would work best for this situation.

8 Replies 8

Collin Clark
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Use a layer 3 switch, like a 3750.

Collin: Thanks for the advice, but I thought that a switch wouldn't allow different subnets to communicate with each other?

Bryan

Some switches are only L2 capable and cannot router. However there are L3 switches which can route.

3560/3750/4500/6500 are all example of L3 switches. These switches can actually route between vlans/subnets.

Jon

Jon:

So I would be able to wire the different subnets into that one switch and then only need one router to add internet access in the future? I did a little research after reading Colin's reply and was wondering if another solution might be to use like a 3825 router with a switch module?

So I would be able to wire the different subnets into that one switch and then only need one router to add internet access in the future?

In some cases, with a Layer 3 switch, you don't need a router.

I did a little research after reading Colin's reply and was wondering if another solution might be to use like a 3825 router with a switch module?

Boils down to the price, requirements and port-cost. NME switch modules come in 16, 24 and 36 but I'd rather have a physcial switch rather than an all-in-one chassis. If your router goes, then everyone goes (if you have redundancy).