cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Trouble accessing 1841

cdavies74
Level 1
Level 1

Similar to http://forums.cisco.com/eforum/servlet/NetProf?page=netprof&forum=Network%20Infrastructure&topic=Getting%20Started%20with%20LANs&topicID=.ee7c7c1&fromOutline=&CommCmd=MB%3Fcmd%3Ddisplay_location%26location%3D.2cd29204 but I cannot access 10.10.10.1 at all.

This is all very new to me, but from the manual I've connected a crossed cable between the PC and router (on FE 0/0 as instructed) and set the PCs IP to 10.10.10.2 along with the sub mask 255.255.255.248. As I boot the router up, "FDX", "100" and "LINK" all light up next to FE 0/0 and the PC initiates a lan connection, however the LEDs all die out after ten seconds or so and the connection is lost.

It may be worth noticing that I'm a complete novice when it comes to Cisco routers, I have not installed any additional hardware (the flash card is already in place) in the 1841 itself either.

Any advice is appreciated.

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Type in:

Config t

ip http server

cntrl z

This will enable the HTTP service on the router.

View solution in original post

Dont forget to save those changes also.

copy run start

or

wr me

View solution in original post

11 Replies 11

pciaccio
Level 4
Level 4

When you mention crossed cable you do mean an Ethernet Cross-over cable crossing pairs 1,2 to 3,6 on the RJ-45 cable. Or are you talking about a rolled serial cable? A rolled serial cable is used on the serial Comm port off the PC using a VT100 terminal emulating program. You would be better off using the serial connection from the router CONsole port to the PC with the serial rolled cable. Then enter the IP address onto the Interface FE0/0. Once programmed with an IP address and mask then you should be able to access the router via the Ethernet side having an ethernet cross-over cable from the PC NIC card to the router FE0/0 interface.