Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Untagged packets on native vlan

Hello, it's my first time posting here and I will very much appreciate your kind response guys. I was just wondering how does a switch handle untagged traffic? If an untagged tragfic from a vlan passed through a trunk going to another switch, will the receiving switch forward the untagged traffic to all the ports no matter what vlan they belong to since the traffic has no vlan mark on it? Why or why not? Thanks in advanced. :-)

-dar

23 Replies 23

Hi

By default the vlan 1 is used as native vlan on the trunks, the native vlan is the one allowed to pass untagged frames between the switches, the rest of the frames will be tagged with their respective vlans to the other end.

Now for security reason the native vlan should be a created vlan for that specific role not used for operations and the vlan 1 should be shutdown. 

>> Marcar como útil o contestado, si la respuesta resolvió la duda, esto ayuda a futuras consultas de otros miembros de la comunidad. <<

Dan Lukes
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni
will the receiving switch forward the untagged traffic to all the ports no matter what vlan they belong to since the traffic has no vlan mark on it?

No, untagged packets are not considered "packet belonging to no VLAN". And no, they are not subject of special processing like "broadcasted to all ports".

It's less complex than you expect.

On input - untagged packets are considered packets of native VLAN

On output - native VLAN packets are transmitted untagged.

Rest of processing is the same.

Note - native VLAN is per-port (not global) configuration option.

And one more "administration" note. There are so many communities on CSC. You created this discussion in "Additional communities" which is not related to the matter. This thread has been moved by moderators team to appropriate place.