cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Using a Catalyst 2950 on a domain

biochrome
Level 1
Level 1

Hello, I'm a Cisco newbie (I was CCNA Cert. a long, long time ago), and have what is probably a simple question, but:

I have a Catalyst 2950T-24 switch (12.1(6)EA2c IOS) that I would like to hook up to our network here. We've already got a windows domain set up (lets call it TRAINING), and it's going to be on a network with the following information:

Gateway: 160.125.2.1

Subnet: 255.255.255.0

DNS primary/secondary: 160.125.2.98/160.125.3.15

It's going to be hooked up to the network through Gigabit 0/1, and the computers in the room are going to be hooked up to the fast ethernet ports (0/1-24).

I already have the basic configuration done (enable secret, hostname, line vty, line con, clock timezone, etc)

What commands would I use to get this thing working so I can get our comps on the network?

Thanks in advance,

MTSN Duncan R. Green, USN

7 Replies 7

Richard Burts
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Duncan

Configuring the 2950 and connecting it to the network can be fairly simple. There are a couple of things that we do not know yet which impact the configuration.

Probably the most important thing we need to know is whether your network is using VLANs and if so what VLANs. It would also be desirable to have an IP address for the management interface for the switch.

In the most simple case there is just a single VLAN in this switch. In that case you would configure all the ports as access ports and on the ports where end stations will connect you want to enable portfast. The gig0/1 would also probably be an access port in this situation - though depending on how its upstream neighbor is configured it might need to be a trunk port.