cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Why aren't ALL CAT-5 cables crossover cables?

AudioGeek
Level 1
Level 1

I am an audio/video tech and have also done quite a bit of ethernet wiring, but am a newbie to this field, so I apologize in advance for this question.

I understand that if a CAT-5 cable with RJ-45 connectors is wired 568A on BOTH ends (or 568B on both ends), that it is a "straight-thru" cable and therefore what comes into Pin 1 on one end also comes out Pin 1 on the other end, and so on. If it is wired 568A on one end and 568B on the other, it crosses over the Tx and Rx pairs. Therefore, pin 1 on one end will connect to pin 3 on the other, and so on. I think what I'm confused about is the ports on the devices. Please allow me to use the simplest example I can think of, a PC connected to a cable MODEM, to ask my questions, and lets ignore the "low" or "-" part of the signal on the twisted pairs.

Therefore, if pin 1 on an RJ-45 is Tx+, and pin 3 is Rx+, does this mean that the PC expects to RECEIVE data in via pin 3 and TRASMIT data out via pin 1? And is this also true for the cable MODEM as well?

What I know about signal flow comes from the audio world, where "outputs go to inputs." So why doesn't the output from pin 1 on the computer HAVE to be crossed over to the input on pin 3 of the MODEM?

Are the ports on the computer and modem different?

3 Replies 3

Aaron Harrison
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi

I see where you're going with that... but basically you are correct when you say that 'outputs go to inputs'.

If you have two PCs back to back, you would use a crossover - thereby making outputs go to inputs.

Typically if you have two switches, you would use a crossover (exceptions being switches with auto-MDIX function to swap the rx/tx pairs internally, or switches with a specific uplink port, often with a push button toggle to do the 'non-auto-MDIX').