Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

1041N-A-K9 help in doing some basic setup

Hi,

I'm new with setting up CISCO AP, I'm used to GUI and that's what I'm using to set this AP. How my network set is :

ISP Modem/Router (disable radio and set it where DHCP start at 192.168.15) ----> CISCO SG300-28P (Set static IP, upgrade fimware) ----> CISCO 1041N AP (Set static IP, 12.4 firmware).

I have 50mbps down and 25mbps upload speed from ISP, when using their router radio...speedtest.net showed just exactly that...but when using the 1041, I get half of it. It also seems that the GUI is rather slow and stubborn, often it doesnt save settings I selected and rather confusing to use, as the express setup is nothing like "express", you need to go to many different setting to get the radio up. Like it wont allow me to use WPA encryption without RADIUS...I dont have any RADIUS server (I can set up RADIUS with my Synology NAS...but is it really neccesary?)

...also the DNS....DHCP is controlled by the ISP router.

Anyway my question :

1) I've been looking for tutorial to set this AP through GUI and mostly is in CLI...how do you enable WMM for one?

2) This AP doesnt seems to perform as well as the integrated radio, what is so special about this AP beside the CLI for advanced config?

3) I'm planning to use another bran AP in conjuction with this AP, planning to use the same SSID and password...do I need to set them using different channels? I have 2.4ghz phone also, which channels should I choose?

4) I set the AP with static IP, the router provide DHCP service....is there any setting where I should be disable the DHCP service on the AP?

My plan is to get a secure, fast and stable service...that is why I choose this setup...but it's been a time consuming just to set this AP to do basic stuff. The Ubiquiti AP I've set before, just took me 15-30 min to set....this?It's been 6-12 hours with medicore performance...