Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. If you'd prefer to explore, try our test area to get started. And see here for current known issues.

2504 non-functional without SmartNet contract?

I'm not an engineer, so I'm turning to this board for a sanity check.  I have a new 2504 Wifi controller and a bunch of new 1602i and 3602e APs that we're trying to install for a client.  Try as he might, my technician cannot get the 2504 controller to even *see* the attached AP.

Now he's telling me that the 2504 controller needs a firware upgrade in order to work properly, and that that update is *only* available if you purchase a SmartNet support agreement.

Can this possibly be true?  That Cisco sells equipment that is advertised to work together (those antenna models are listed on the 2504 data sheet) but doesn't unless you agree to be extorted into a support agreement?

I can't believe this is true.  What say you?

7 REPLIES
Hall of Fame Super Silver

Re: 2504 non-functional without SmartNet contract?

Antennas doesn't matter and isn't shown in the WLC. As Lin as the AP's are joined to the WLC then your fine. If the AP's are not joined to the WLC then either the configuration is wrong or the code your using isn't correct. You should be on v7.4.121.0 which works for your AP and is stable. You can choose the image when ordering also. Also of you have the WLC less than 90 days, you can still open a TAC case if required. Here is the matrix

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/wireless/controller/5500/tech_notes/Wireless_Software_Compatibility_Matrix.html

Sent from Cisco Technical Support iPhone App

-Scott
*** Please rate helpful posts ***