Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AIR-LAP1242AG bandwidth issue

Good afternoon,

My name is Dave and my company has assigned me to fix an issue with the signal from a WLAN 5508 Controller to several ( maybe 12) AIR-LAP1242AG's in a warehouse location.

We are currently using a single 5 GHz anntenna but are looking into other options.

The issue we are having is the signal strength.  We are using Windows CE scan guns and the wireless is weak at best (even if you stand directly under the AP.

Since I am brand new to the job, I am unfamiliar with our topology but will do what I can to resolve this issue.  Could the issue be a combination of power, antenna strength and something in the controller perventing the signal from passing?

The ceilings in the warehouse rafters are between 25-30ft.    I will be happy to assist anyone that might be able to point us in the right direction.

I have yet to look into the AP's console but I wanted to get possibly a few ideas.

Thank you so much for your time and consideration in solving our issue.

Sincerely,

Dave P. 

Everyone's tags (2)
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Re: AIR-LAP1242AG bandwidth issue

David,

There is your problem sir....  If you are infact using the AIR-ANT5135D-R which is an 802.11a antenna, then your issues is no antenna on the AP for the radio your using.

Noted here the specs say it is an 802.11b/g radio in the scanner which is 2.4Ghz.

Falcon 4420:

SAP Certified - Integration with SAP  Application

GS1 databar compatible

Microsoft Windows® CE 5.0 or Windows Mobile® 5.0  Operating Systems
802.11 b/g wireless local area networking CCX v 4  certified  <-------------------------------- See Here
XScale Microprocessor
128 MB RAM / 128 MB Flash  Memory
Bluetooth® wireless technology
Datalogic Management Utility (DMU)  and Datalogic Desktop Utility (DDU)