Views
Helpful
Replies

AP installation help

comsats
Level 1
Level 1

guys i am really new to wireless and need some bas

ic setup help.....we have a office and we have recently purchased 4400 WLC and 1242AG

light weight access points.... now for AP to install (as our office is really big) what is the formula to calculate the number of AP's required in office so that we can have good coverge....

Thanks

2 Replies 2

jbarger
Level 1
Level 1

This is the trial and error method of installing access points.

I find that APs only have about 100' range indoors.  Download inssider (free program), install one access point.  You can see the signal level of your ssid with inssider.  Walk away from the access point, when the signal reaches -80db that is the range of the current access point.  Double that distance add another access point, this way you have -80 as your lowest signal.

If you plan to use "N" make sure you have the 5.8ghz radio enabled with bonding and beamforming.  Use 5.8ghz (instead of the 2.4) signal to determine coverage and the 2.4ghz will perform better so coverage will be good.  If you require "N" to perform really well use -75 at 5.8ghz as your guide to lowest allowed signal.

Leo Laohoo
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame