Views
Helpful
Replies

Balancing load on AP's

carlhoogen
Level 1
Level 1

Hello all,

I'm new to WLANs and dutch (what could be worse). Recently employed at a school I'm confronted with WLAN problems. Trying to understand it all I'm reading as much as possible and found this forum.

We're planning to have 2 AP's on a mobile cart servicing approx. 20 laptops. With my limited knowledge I understand the client connects to the AP with the strongest signal. Is it possible to prevent this?

TIY

Carl

5 Replies 5

sethgarnar
Level 1
Level 1

I've seen some wireless clients that have the ability to connect to a certain AP using its mac address. You could also set one AP to mac filter and use 10 laptops on that and the other AP would have the other 10 laptops. Maybe the easiest option is to have two SSID's AP1/AP2 then configure half the laptops to one SSID and the other half to the 2nd AP.

Certainly, the two ssid option will allow physical separation, provided the laptops do not need to roam. However, if that scenario is undesireable, the best way to physically load balance the network would be to perform a site survey and use lower powered cells to create smaller cell sizes that can only cover 'half' of the intended area. Two cells with 10 - 20 % overlap (same ssid) will create the physical separation you are looking for. The drawback to this, will be when more than half of the clients are on one side or the other. The fix to that will be to add more AP's at low power to add aggregate throughput.

If you have a room like a cubicle farm with very little in the way of signals, you need to be more creative as to where you place the AP's.