Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. If you'd prefer to explore, try our test area to get started. And see here for current known issues.

CCNA Wireless home Lab

Hi All,

I am currently studying for my CCNA wireless, and looking to buy a home lab from eBay.

Am looking at buying an Cisco WLC 4402 (CISCO AIR-WLC4402-12-K9),

But am not sure which AP to buy and if they would be compatible, Am looking at;

2 x AP1131AG-E-K9 (Cisco 1131 Access point)

Would these AP be compatible with the 4402 WLC?

What version of the software does the WLC need to be for the CCNA Wireless?

Also would I be able to learning all CCNA Wireless features and clean air with these kit?

Many Thanks for your help.

Mohammed

Everyone's tags (1)
2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
VIP Purple

Hi Mohammed,Yes that AP model

Hi Mohammed,

Yes that AP model is compatible with 4402. If you are purchasing WLC, see whether you can have it with software version 7.0.x which is the last version supported by that WLC model. (otherwise you have to access the Cisco WLC software & upgrade the controller, which may not be the case with you)

http://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/td/docs/wireless/compatibility/matrix/compatibility-matrix.html#56735

Depending on where you are, try to choose AP model applicable to your regulatory domain. (eg -A for US, Canada, -E for Europe,Middle East, etc). See below for complete list

http://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/products/collateral/wireless/aironet-1300-series/product_data_sheet0900aecd80537b6a.html

If you want to play with Clean Air feture with this controller model, then you need to have 3500 series AP model which has that feature & supported by that software version. All the other latest AP model required latest software which is not supported by 4402.