Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco 2504 WLC Configuration

Hi Everyone,

I have got one new Cisco 2504 WLC with 5 AP License & 4 1600 Series Access Points.

I have three sub-nets in my network as following;

- VLAN 10 : 192.168.90.0/24 (IT Dept.) - SSID : XXXX-IT

- VLAN 20 : 192.168.92.0/24 (Common Staff) - SSID : XXXX

- VLAN 30 : 192.168.94.0/24 (Corporate Dept.) - SSID : XXXX-CORP

I have to place 4 AP's on two floors 2 AP's on each floor. All the AP's should release all the three SSID's and receptively users should connect to appropriate networks.

Example:

IT Department is on 2nd Floor and the IT people connects to XXXX-IT and gets the sub-net 192.168.90.XXX. When the IT people visits 3rd floor they should still be connected to the same network XXXX-IT through 3rd Floor's AP's.

Honestly i have very little knowledge of wireless technology and moreover no knowledge about WLC's.

Kindly help me configure this out as per my requirement.

Regard

@Mohammed

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Twitter.

Ok. Well let me try to explain. Cisco recommend don't attached directly the AP to the WLC, maybe is working but you don't get support from Cisco Tac in case you needed.

Now, you configured your managed interface, now your wireless clients are getting ip addressing from the same subnet, right?

Well I know you want to use separate subnets for every WLAN.

Now create a new dynamic interface from Controller--> Interfaces 

Then write a name for example WLAN-CORP and write the corresponding VLAN in your example clan 30.

Then click on apply button. A new windows will appear write the ip address for example:

P : 192.168.94.3

Mask : 255.255.255.0

Gateway : 192.168.94.1

DHCP Server  : 192.168.94.1

VLAN-ID : 30

Then create your WLAN. Click on WLAN--> Type WLAN-->Profile Name WLAN-CORP

Write the SSID (WLAN) name and this is import on ID select a value below of 16.

Numer 1,2,3,4 are fine.