Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. If you'd prefer to explore, try our test area to get started. And see here for current known issues.

Difficulties with AppleTV Airplay over network

Hi All,

First of all, my apologies as I am relatively new to the IP game.  I am an engineer on a Motor Yacht, and we are having some issues with our Airplay devices.

To be honest, I have spent quite a few days on this now, and have hit a brick wall -- So hopefully you can all help.

As a background, I have gone through the cisco wlc bonjour deployment guide.  Our IT support guys were adamant the problems were related to two netgear gs108 switches we had across our network and their best advice was to buy some cisco managed switches to replace them and fix the problem.

I used wire shark on those net gear routers and they did not drop, or block layer 2 level broadcasting, but to appease them, I took them off the network and plugged all atv's directly into our switch.

Still the problems continues

To briefly describe our network, we are running

2 x CT2504-K9 WLC ( software v8.0.120.0)

5 x AIR-CAP3602e/K9 AP's

1 x WS-C3850-48PW5

1 x WS-C3560G-48PS

1 x Kerio Control Box 3130 for our internet routing.

15 x ATVs (14 Apple Tv's are wired, 1 is Wireless - We have Gen 2/3/4 atv's)

15 x Ipads

We have 5 Vlans that is segregated across our various navigational and automation (crestron) systems.

The problem we are having is AppleTV's intermittently coming on and off on Airplay.  All of our ATV's, Ipads, Mac Minis (which also do internal name resolution), are on the same VLAN5.