Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Community Member

Help with setup for roaming on 3502 and 1252

Hello everyone, I have a bit suggest about setting up roaming without having it connect different SSID. I figuring when I was at Rochester Institute of Technology college when I walk in hall, I seen my phone wifi signal was never disconnected but seen 1142 (I figured it out what design look like) change from green to blue in every location. My major is Information & Computing Studies at NTID.

My current setup at home:

1. Internet to Untangle Firewall to Cisco Catalyst Express 500 with PoE to two 3502i at home

2. Cisco Catalyst Express 500 to Cisco Catalyst Express 500 with PoE to two 1252 at garage

3. 3502i and 1252 are running Autonomous IOS or Standalone

And also we have smartphones, apple ipads and iphones, and a laptops.

I want to set the same SSID so they should automatically connect via roaming to any location like RIT and even dual band should work too. I do not have Virtual WLC or Windows Server (I should get Windows Server 2008 R2 or 2012 from RIT and I can download virtual WLC too). Will it work without WLC and server?

In case, If it is not possible without WLC then I would like to know what requirement list so I can add to that to make it work.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Gage Burchett wrote:

Stephen,

All of these AP are running WPA2-PSK AES + WPA-PSK TKIP (Cipher AES CCMP + TKIP) with same passhrase and same SSID. Any channel still work? Isn't 802.1x can be used with Windows Server that have RADIUS? Are you sure I leave these same configuration so it will roaming itself or client?

I would stick with channels 1/6/11, those are the standard non overlapping channels for the 2.4GHz side.  For 5GHz, any channel you pick should work as the channels in 5GHz do not overlap.