cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

how to get an AP up and running

ronshuster
Level 1
Level 1

I am not a wireless expert and I am trying to get a Cisco AP up and running with a very basic configuration. One SSID + authentication. I am unable to see the SSID broadcasted, can you please assist.

Please see the attached config file

Also, if you have a good link to describes how to get an AP and running and all the features that are available, that would be greate.

3 Replies 3

jaichauh
Level 1
Level 1

Hi!

Not able to see the attachement.

You just need to use "guest-mode" command under SSID configuration.

or use GUI:

Security-->SSID Manager

Scroll down to the bottom and locate "Guest Mode/Infrastructure SSID Settings"

and select the ssid under " Set Single Guest Mode SSID"

Click Apply.

Please see the following links for reference:

Basic Wireless LAN Connection Configuration Example

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/tech/tk722/tk809/technologies_configuration_example09186a008055c39a.shtml

Default SSID Configuration

http://cisco.com/en/US/docs/wireless/access_point/12.4_3g_JA/configuration/guide/s43ssid.html#wp1049510

HTH

-Jai

JC

Jai, thank you for the advise, as soon as I added "guest-mode" I was able to see the SSID broadcasted, thank you.

A few more questions:

1) What is guest mode? Does that mean any user can see the SSID and authenticate without any password? This is what it seems like, is that correct?

2) Now, I would like to authenticate users with a password, does that mean I should remove "guest-mode"? I tried to remove "guest-mode" and add a password and I am no longer seeing the SSID broadcast. This is what I changed:

dot11 ssid testing123

authentication open

infrastructure-ssid optional

wpa-psk ascii 7 14141B180F0B7B79777B6164

I was expecting to get an authentication prompt but I am not even seeing the SSID now.

3) How can I restrict specific users to specific vlans?

I know the basic wireless, but I need to know a little bit more.