Views
Helpful
Replies

Joining AP to vWLC

Fathi Hanif
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I'm running vwlc 8.2.166 on esxi 6.5 on VMWare Workstation 12. All the initial configuration is done, and I can login to the WLC web GUI. This is my first time using WLC and AP, can someone help me connecting AP to the vWLC? What else do I need to do?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi

You need to put the AP in the network and you need to have connectivity between wlc and AP. 

As long as you have connectivity, there are some options:

- Broadcast

-DHCP

-DNS

You can also add the wlc manually on the AP via CLI. 

If the AP is able to reach the WLC via broadcast, same vlan, then AP will be able to join. Otherwise, you can setup option 43 on the DHCP server. This way, the DHCP server will pass the WLC's IP address via DHCP offer.

If you have internal DNS, you can add an entry for CISCO-CAPWAP-CONTROLLER pointing to you WLC'S IP address.

If you decide to add manually, you can access the AP via console and issue:

capwap ap ip address 

capwap ap ip default-gateway

capwap ap controller ip address

-If I helped you somehow, please, rate it as useful.-

View solution in original post

10 Replies 10

Hi

You need to put the AP in the network and you need to have connectivity between wlc and AP. 

As long as you have connectivity, there are some options:

- Broadcast

-DHCP

-DNS

You can also add the wlc manually on the AP via CLI. 

If the AP is able to reach the WLC via broadcast, same vlan, then AP will be able to join. Otherwise, you can setup option 43 on the DHCP server. This way, the DHCP server will pass the WLC's IP address via DHCP offer.

If you have internal DNS, you can add an entry for CISCO-CAPWAP-CONTROLLER pointing to you WLC'S IP address.

If you decide to add manually, you can access the AP via console and issue:

capwap ap ip address 

capwap ap ip default-gateway

capwap ap controller ip address

Putting the AP like plugging it to my laptop right?