cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

LAP1142N-A-K9

lynn77581
Level 1
Level 1

I am new to this, so please have patience.

I purchased an LAP1142N and can't seem to get the Configure Terminal command to work after I enter the "enable" command. I get the "Invalid input detected at '^' marker" error message. 

I did notice that when I type ? for a list of command that I do not see config as one of them.  Also, I would like to change the name of the AP but "hostname" is not an option either.

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Yes, BLUE mean a active association of a client (may not be authenticated, ie before you enter password as well LED changed color to Blue)

GREEN mean it is in normal operation with no client associated.

table 1 of this link provide all LED color indicators & their meaning.

http://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/td/docs/wireless/access_point/1140/quick/guide/ap1140gsg.html

Thanks for using rating system as well. Once you get everything working you can mark the thread as answered.

HTH

Rasika

View solution in original post

12 Replies 12

Welcome to the CSC forum :)

This access point require a wireless controller to operate. That's why it does not accept those commands on the console CLI.

Having said that, if you want to use it as standalone access point you have to convert it to autonomous mode. To do that you require proper image (something like c1140-k9w7-tar.124-25d.JA.tar) which you should get from Cisco if you purchased through them. If it is via a partner then you need to ask from them (not freely downloadable)

Once you get the required image you can use one of this method to convert your lightweight AP to standalone mode

1. http://mrncciew.com/2013/12/13/ap-conversion-using-mode-button/

2. http://mrncciew.com/2012/10/20/lightweight-to-autonomous-conversion/

HTH

Rasika

**** Pls rate all useful responses ****