cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Radio not transmitting - Aironet 1130AG Series

MIke68847
Level 1
Level 1

Just got this AP, glanced through the guides, fired it up to walk through the setup pages. Seems pretty straight-forward, however, The radio for 802.11g doesn't seem to be working. The radio LED light comes on briefly than goes off - not much of a pattern. I've got a Vista Business laptop sitting right next to it - can't "see" it. Have reset it three times now - same result. I'm brand new to Cisco products - where should I start on troubleshooting?

6 Replies 6

Rob Huffman
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hi Mike,

One thing to note that on the newer IOS's the Radio's cannot be enabled until the SSID is set. You may have been seeing this result;

Changes to the Default Configuration-Radios Disabled and No Default SSID

In this release, the radio or radios are disabled by default, and there is no default SSID. You must create an SSID and enable the radio or radios before the access point will allow wireless associations from other devices. These changes to the default configuration improve the security of newly installed access points.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/wireless/access_point/ios/release/notes/b38jebrn.html#wp147963

Here is a simple setup guide;

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/wireless/access_point/12.3_4_JA/configuration/guide/s34frst.html#wp1036371

Once you configure a SSID your radios should come up/stay up.

Hope this helps!

Rob

Thanks, but I saw that notice and ensured I have a SSID and then enabled the radios (see attached Word doc with screenshots).

Maybe I have to enable some Services? (By the way, I get an error on the Services page - content is missing and I see this in the upper left-hand side right underneath the Cisco logo: \n'; for (i=0; i

Are you using PoE? Ive had issue with the PoE in the new APs. The ap would turn on, but the radio wouldnt until I selected PoE / mac address.