Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Community Member

Some concept of cisco wireless product

Hi All,

I am new to wireless. I had read some information of the cisco wireless product. But something I am confused. Here is my questions, I hope some body can give me the answer:

1. I saw the information about aironet have some terms like "aironet 350 access point" and "aironet 350 bridge" ? are they different products? The meaning of the information is the "access point" is used indoor and the distance between the access point and the client can not longer than 1 mile while "bridge" is used outdoor and the distance between the client and the bridge can be 25 miles. But I don't know why???

2. I saw a case in this forum:

SiteA need to connect to SiteB but the distance between SiteA and SiteB is longer than 25 miles (not consider the LOS first) so I need to add a bridge between SiteA and SiteB. the topology is like the following:

SiteA----NewBridge----SiteB

My question is how should I config the role of the bridge. To my knowledge the 1 wireless domain can have just 1 root bridge and the non-root bridge just can connect to client and root bridge. so in this case the NewBridge must set to root bridge and the bridges in SiteA and SiteB must be non-root bridge. But if so, and if the distance between SIteA and SiteB is longer than 50 miles and in this case two NewBridges need to be added and can not set the role.

Another question is in that case the link between NewBridge and SiteA and the link between NewBridge and SiteB should use different channel, am I right or wrong?

Hope somebody can answer my question or provide the links in web site about the information. Thank You very much!!

Best Regards

Teru Lei

3 REPLIES
Cisco Employee

Re: Some concept of cisco wireless product

Hi Teru Lei,