Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Users might experience few discrepancies in Search results. We are working on this on our side. We apologize for the inconvenience it may have caused.

Unequal load ditribution accross LWAPs

Hi,

I am very new to Cisco wireless solutions and there is an existing setup I took over at my new place and tring to get my head around how things working. It consists of WS-C3750G-24WS-S25 switch with integrated wireless controller and a number of AIR-LAP1242AG-A-K9 and AIR-LAP1142N-A-K9 accross the building, location aplience, wcs server etc.

The issue is that somehow clients are not distrubuted equally accross access points. For example, I have two access points (different models, if it makes any difference) which are couple feet apart from each other. During the day, one of the LWAP (AIR-LAP1242AG-A-K9) takes vast majority of wireless clients in the area (if not all), at the same time the next one (AIR-LAP1142N-A-K9) which is 10 feet (clear sight) away from the first "leader" have only few (or close to zero) clients. I checked with WCS system, APs are working on different channels (1 and 6). The result is that the AIR-LAP1242AG-A-K9 get congested with number of clients and traffic load affecting user wireless experience. All LWAP are mounted as "table top" if it makes any difference. The map is pretty accurate and AP are placed on the map at right spots. I am not sure if all walls etc. present on the map as I don't know was there any wireless spectrum planning done prior deploying the system.