Views
Helpful
Replies

Wireless solution(s) for existing network

gbvandervalk
Level 1
Level 1

Hello all,

Hoping you can help me with the following issue. I have no experience setting up a wireless network, so bear with me.

We have a network where 9 office floors are connected by access switches [Catalyst 3560] to 2 core switches in the server room [Catalyst 4500] providing network connectivity to approx. 50 users per floor. Each floor has it's own dedicated VLAN.

Management has asked me to install a wireless connection to the existing network on one floor but with more floors very likely to follow in the future.

Please guide me to the likely hardware solutions for our situation as I'm finding it difficult to make a good choice.

Also, if you good people could make any suggestions as to the steps I should follow setting up such a wireless solution, they are very welcome. I'm already reading up on encryption and authentication solutions and any help (or real-life experience) would be greatly appreciated.

Should you need more information, please ask.

Sincerely,

GB.

9 Replies 9

robert.wright
Level 1
Level 1

Whats up?

First order of business is to determine what you are planning to do with your wireless network? Throw voice over it? General email/web? Your own corporate apps?

You need to find out how much bandwidth your going to need as it will define the data rates you need to serve up.

Next order of business is to review your floor plan and mark where you want coverage and making notes of high density areas. (large gathering of user's cubes, conference rooms etc).

Take your map of requested coverage and walk through your area looking for troublespots.. Essentially large metal objects, and the building material used. Concrete walls result in a ~10-15db loss ( every 3db is = to half the signal ), where drywall is about 4db.