Views
Helpful
Replies

Basic configuration IDSM-2

ruben.montes
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I have some experience with sensors but this is my first time configuring a C6500 with IDSM-2, and I have some design questions. The first question is this: can I mix the use of VACL and SPAN to capture traffic in the same configuration?

Customer is actually using VACL to capture traffic from some machines, but he now wants to monitor all the traffic that comes from and external partner through a VPN concentrator, so I assume for this case I should use SPAN to monitor the VPN's port: am I right?

The config that the customer has is more or less the following:

intrusion-detection module 1 data-port 1 capture intrusion-detection module 1 data-port 1 capture allowed-vlan 1 intrusion-detection module 1 data-port 2 capture allowed-vlan 1

vlan access-map ids 10

match ip address in

action forward capture

vlan access-map ids 20

match ip address out

action forward

vlan filter ids vlan-list 1

ip access-list extended in

permit ip any host 192.168.1.1

permit ip host 192.168.1.1 any

ip access-list extended out

permit ip any any

If I want to use SPAN, which is the limitation in the number of source ports I can put in the "monitor session" command?

Should I send this "span" traffic to the sensing interface 8 (data-port 2) or can I still sending it to the data-port 1 (sensing interface 7)?

Why there are two sensing interfaces?

Thanks in advance...

Ruben

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

marcabal
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

First thing to understand is that the customer should not configure both data port 1 and data-port 2 to see the same traffic.

The sensor will get duplicate packets, and will at a minimum lower the sensor's overall performance (spending cpu just to throw away the duplicates), and at worst could cause false positives and possibly even false negatives.