cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Difference between inline and passive mode in ips

sebastan_bach
Level 4
Level 4

hi i am new to ips. i got a ips 4215 sensor which says it can set it's monitoring interfaces in passive mode in which it can read the packets directed to it by a switch. now since this is a ips when it reads a packet which triggers a alarm and action set is reset will it require a pix or a router to block the traffic from the attcker or it can block on it's own since it a ips. i am not sure of this. can u pls guide me on this. see ya

regards

sebastan

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Fernando_Meza
Level 7
Level 7

Hi ... the main difference is that promiscuos or passive mode provides a reactive protection. It can be configured to reset the attacker's connection, IP blocking, and Ip logging but it can't stop the initial attack from reaching the targets. The reason is because the packets it inspects have been copied and forwarded to it by SPAN sessions or by promiscuosly listening traffic on a segment.

When the sensor is on inline mode, traffic has to traverse the sensor's interfaces ( pair ).Traffic gets inspected, tested againts the signatures and then if OK then forwarded to the destination. This approach offers preventing protection because the sensor can stop an attack BEFORE it reaches the target which is something than IDS ( passive sensors ) can't do

In summary I suggest you to try using your sensor on inline mode .. it not only offers the same functinality of IDS but extra protection against attacks.

I hope it helps .. please rate it it does !!!

View solution in original post

5 Replies 5

A passive IPS is not capable of blocking any traffic. On its own, it is capable of sending TCP connection resets. If it is paired with a firewall/router, it can send block requests to those devices. There are a few other things, but blocking can not be done.