Views
Helpful
Replies

Help with inline VLAN Pair and switch configuration

cmorillotx
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I'm new to IPS and IDS in general, but I have an IPS-4255 and a couple of Catalyst 2900 switches to experiment with. I'm currently trying to enable an Inline VLAN Pair configuration on the IPS and have a simple setup.

SW1 and SW2 have vlans 100 and 200 configured. PC1 and PC2 are on the same IP range (no routing). PC1 on vlan 100 connects to Sw1. PC2 on vlan 200 connects to SW2. The IPS connects to a SW2 trunking port, and SW1 and SW2 are connected together on another trunking port.

I know that my trunking is working because PC1 and PC2 can ping each other whenever they are on the same vlan of either switch. But, they can't ping when on the separate vlans.

From what I've read, the IPS with an Inline VLAN Pair acts as a bridge between the two vlans and should forward the traffic if it passes inspection. However, the IPS does not appear to see any traffic at all.

My IPS is configured with inline VLAN pair 100->200 and associated to vs0.

Have I missed something in my config somewhere? Or am I misunderstanding how inline VLAN Pairs are supposed to work?

Below are my configs for the switches and the IPS.

Any help would be appreciated. Thank you!

------------------------------

IPS Config

service interface

physical-interfaces GigabitEthernet0/0

no description

admin-state enabled

duplex auto

speed auto

alt-tcp-reset-interface interface-name GigabitEthernet0/3

subinterface-type inline-vlan-pair

subinterface 1

description test

vlan1 100

vlan2 200

exit

exit

service analysis-engine

virtual-sensor vs0

physical-interface GigabitEthernet0/0 subinterface-number 1

inline-TCP-session-tracking-mode vlan-only

exit

exit

SW1 and SW2 config

interface FastEthernet0/1

switchport access vlan 100

!

interface FastEthernet0/9

switchport access vlan 200

!

interface FastEthernet0/18

switchport trunk encapsulation dot1q

switchport mode trunk