cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

using alternate tcp reset interface

sebastan_bach
Level 4
Level 4

hi i am new to cisco ips. can someone pls tell me the function of use alternate interface for tcp reset.

say i have 2 interfaces for the ips. one command and control interface and other is a interface running in promiscious mode.

without this command can the ids send tcp resets. or does it uses a another interface for tcp resets.

can someone pls tell me.

regards

sebastan

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

marcabal
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Under most installations the alternate tcp reset interface is not needed.

By default the TCP resets will go back out the same interface where the attack was detected.

So if your promiscuous interface is connected to a 100Mbps hub for monitoring then the tcp resets will be sent back out that same promiscuous interface into the hub.

Or if your promiscuous interface is connected to the span port of a switch, then the tcp resets will be sent back out the same promiscuous interface into that span port.

The issue becomes no whether the sensor can send the tcp resets, but if the switch will accept them. Many switches Will accept tcp resets coming in from the span port. Some switches just require an extra parameter on the span configuration to tell the switch to allow incoming packets from the span port.

BUT there are some switches that do NOT allow incoming packets from their span ports.

These ituations are the reason for the alternate tcp reset interface configuration.

It requires having 2 sensing interfaces (one for promiscuous monitoring, and the the other used as just the alternate tcp reset interface). The command and control port can NOT be used as the alternate tcp reset interface.