cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Allowing a Hotel call to bypass internal DNs?

timsilverline
Level 4
Level 4

I am a novice with voice but am trying to figure something out for our CEO and was hoping this board could clarify my assumptions based on what I am seeing.

This is the situation...

He owns a condo at a hotel and has many Cisco phones throughout.  He also has a couple of lines coming into a 2901 voice gateway that connect both to the local PSTN and directly to the hotel's internal telephone system.  All of this ties back to a CallManager which is reachable via VPN at our main office.

The phones in the condo all have three lines on them - one for his regular internal company extension, one for the hotel room number, and one for the local PSTN line.

What we are trying to achieve is the ability to dial 3-digit hotel numbers from the hotel line and have them go out directly to the hotel.

With what I have setup so far it is working to a point.  If I dial a  3 digit number that is not currently an extension within our CallManager system it works fine.  However, if I dial an extension that DOES exist within our company it always routes to that extension rather than to the hotel line.

As I look through the route patterns I notice that there is no route pattern setup for internal extensions and so I am trying to determine if there is any way to exclude dialing internal numbers from this line but rather force all calls from this line to be routed to the 2901 and out to the hotel line.

I know there is probably a way I could do this by having him dial a specific number prior to dialing the hotel extension and building a translation pattern in CallManager to send back to the 2901 with the proper 3 digits but this is not what he wants.  He wants it to be simple for anyone that comes and just have them be able to dial the hotel extension.