Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. And see here for current known issues.

Asterisk as Voicemail and AA system for CME

Hi All

I won't bore you with the background whys and wherefores suffice to say we now have an enviroment where we have migrated from asterisk open source PBX to CME based system but cannot yet move to CUE.

We have the asterisk (extension range 1300 - 1399) and cme systems (extension range 1400-1499) talking to each other via sip trunks and all is well.

What we would like to do now is to use the voicemail functionality of asterisk to provide voicemail for our cme users.

I'm relatively new to CME but think the answer lies in translation profiles?

I created a dummy extention on asterisk box (51401) to store the voicemail for CME extention 1401.

The voicemail access number is 600. Which can be called from the CME system but of course it asks for the mailbox number presumably because CME is presenting the wrong caller-ID (1401 instead of 51401)?

Am I correct in thinking that a translation profile could be used to add the 5 to the outgoing called number of 600? If so would somebody mind providing me an example of a suitable translation profile.

Also how would mwi indicator work? I'm guessing that mwi sip-server 192.168.x.x unsolicited would work but would i have to have an incoming translation profile to remove the 5 from the mwi message?

Of course if I'm barking up the wrong trees and someone knows of a better way to solve this (apart from buying Unity!) - please let me know.

Thanks in advance

13 REPLIES
Hall of Fame Super Gold

Re: Asterisk as Voicemail and AA system for CME

Hi Antony,

yes your problem can be in the numbers. If you can't configure the voicemail to work with the native numbers, then translation-profile can change them.

So for example;