Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco 7975G Over VPN?

dapperrync
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

First off - I am NOT a Network / Phone guy at all. I am an Applications Developer who works from home, who is pretty agile to learning some network stuff. That said - I use Cisco AnyConnect Secure Mobility Client on my Windows laptop to connect to my Company's network. Currently I use Cisco UC Integration for Microsoft Lync as my soft phone (I previously used Cisco Ip Communicator). Call me old fashioned but I would much prefer to use a good old standard phone, and I managed to find a 7975G at a yard sale for $5 that seems to be functioning just fine.

I have asked my network guys to help me set it up, but they seem to be pressed with other issues. Can anybody give me a checklist of what to do? I have looked at some user manuals, but it is all very confusing and designed for telephony guys, and pretty much overkill for what I am trying to do. Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

David Perry

7 Replies 7

Manish Gogna
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi David,

The complete configuration requirement on Phone / CUCM and ASA is outlined in the following link

https://supportforums.cisco.com/docs/DOC-21469

HTH

Manish

Chris Deren
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

David,

Phone VPN connectivity requires admin setup on the call server (CUCM) as well as Cisco ASA (VPN concentrator), there is nothing you can do remotely yourself to make it work, unless you have a VPN router at home that connects to the corporate network.  Your system admin essentially needs to build trusted connection between the CUCM and ASA, phone needs to connect to ASA via VPN anyconnect (licensed) and install the appropriate certificates.

HTH,

Chris

dapperrync
Level 1
Level 1