Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Community Member

Cisco Unified Call Manager 7.1.X

Can anyone please help me to understand the exact difference between 'Reset' and 'Apply config' button on the CUCM 7.1.5 and which should be the correct button which applies to phone, gateway and gatekeepers.

Everyone's tags (1)
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Community Member

Re: Cisco Unified Call Manager 7.1.X

Well, it takes a llittle bit to explain.

In previous versions of CUCM, they only have "Save" button on the admin page.  As the name indicated, "Save" button saves configuration into database (hard disk).

However, saving configuraton to hard disk may or may not have immediate effect on the system functions.  That's because most processes (programs) making decisions based on the data in computer memory (RAM).

Changing the data on hard drive does not necessary update the memory immeditately.  There's a mechanism called "Change Notification" to ensure the update.  The "Apply Config" button is a manual method to make changes take effect immediately.

Guess it's as clear as mud? 

Michael

5 REPLIES
Community Member

Cisco Unified Call Manager 7.1.X

"Reset" means power off / power on the device.  For IP phones, they'll go through the IP address allocation, firmware verification process.

"Apply config" does not trigger the above process.

Michael

Community Member

Cisco Unified Call Manager 7.1.X

Thanks for your reply Mike. So what is the exact function of Apply config button and in which situation/cases it should be used.

Community Member

Re: Cisco Unified Call Manager 7.1.X

Well, it takes a llittle bit to explain.

In previous versions of CUCM, they only have "Save" button on the admin page.  As the name indicated, "Save" button saves configuration into database (hard disk).

However, saving configuraton to hard disk may or may not have immediate effect on the system functions.  That's because most processes (programs) making decisions based on the data in computer memory (RAM).

Changing the data on hard drive does not necessary update the memory immeditately.  There's a mechanism called "Change Notification" to ensure the update.  The "Apply Config" button is a manual method to make changes take effect immediately.

Guess it's as clear as mud? 

Michael

Community Member

Cisco Unified Call Manager 7.1.X

I got it. Thanks Mike

Hall of Fame Super Red

Cisco Unified Call Manager 7.1.X

Hey Michael,

Great explanation here! You really made this process as clear as

any I've heard. (+5)

Cheers!

Rob

500
Views
5
Helpful
5
Replies
CreatePlease to create content