Helpful
Replies

Clarify L1 and L2 clocking on voice interfaces

z.zdravkov
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I want to clarify the following questions:

1. What is L1 clocking on E1/T1 interfaces? How to setup?

2. What is L2 clocking on T1/E1 interfaces? How to setup?

3. What does network-clock-participate and network-clock-select do?

4. What does clock source line and internal do?

5. What does  isdn protocol-emulate network and  isdn protocol-emulate network?

6. What are the possible mix of those commands?

Please describe but not provide us links. I have some experience and know most of the info on the Cisco site. I need a good summary of the things.

Thanks in advance.

5 Replies 5

paolo bevilacqua
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Please describe but not provide us links.

Excuse me, that would mean that to answer your post, someone is supposed to write a new description for quite simple things that are explained in full detail exactly in the links you are not interested ?

BTW: there is no such thing as L2 clock.

Hi Paolo,

Sometimes we need to read the same thing on a few places to understand correctly what is it. If you know useful thing on on clocking subject please post them. I will try to do the description by myself.

Thanks in advance.

Hi,

there is no difference between L1 and L2 clocking. The reason clocking is important is to have the transmit (Tx) and receive (Rx) operations be clocked in a consistent manner. If they are not synchronized line errors will occur in form of timing slips. These will result in bad audio and clipping and loss of data for faxes.

ISRs have a TDM backplane and a mainboard TDM switch. NMs also have the their own TDM switch and maybe own DSPs. Every device will have its own clocking domain if a DSP is present on it. For eg, a NM with DSP on board will have its own clocking domain. and so will the motherboard. These are defined as clocking domains.

The T1 cards must be clocked synchronously with these DSPs.