cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

clustring CUCM over wan, What best practice should i do ?

I have 9 site connected over WAN and each site with one CUCM 8.5,i know that in clustering 8 call processing server at max,so i have a publisher and 8 subscriber .

what best practice for this topology ,call processing enabled on publisher and he will be the backup of branch users in a group of two and HQ site with one branch site will use the publisher for primary ,centralizing TFTP server is a good idea ?what's your advice.

thanks.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi

How many phones do you have. Yes you can use Local CUCM subscriber as call processing unit for that branch and keep HQ publisher as backup of for those branch. You can run TFTP service on all the subscriber also, to reduce latency between Ip phone and TFTP server.

With Unified CM 6.1 and later  releases, the TFTP server can perform a local database read from the  database on its co-resident subscriber server. Local database read not  only provides benefits such as the preservation of user-facing features  when the publisher in unavailable, but also allows multiple TFTP servers  to be distributed by means of clustering over the WAN. (The same  latency rules for clustering over the WAN apply to TFTP servers as to  servers with registered phones.) This configuration brings the TFTP  service closer to the endpoints, thus reducing latency and ensuring  failure isolation between the sites.

But you have to keep in mind publisher should not be over loaded in case of failure of subscriber. SO you have to keep in mind the number of ip phones also.

Also it would be good to confugre QOS for ICCS traffic.

Regards

Ronak Patel

Please rate helpful posts.

Regards Ronak Patel Rate all helpful post by clicking stars below the answer.

View solution in original post

5 Replies 5

Adrian Saavedra
Level 7
Level 7

Hi,