cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

confusion over srst

linda0055
Level 1
Level 1

hi, I am new to this so please bear with me. We currently have a satellite office setup with an mgcp gateway where the pri is located at our main office. We want to add srst capabilities to this gateway which means I need an analog line ran to the router. My question is does the analog line have to go into an FXO or an FXS port on the router or could it go into either. Could someone please explain this to me.

Thanks

Linda

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

When you configure a directory number assigned to an IP phone there is a "Call Forward Unregistered" setting that allows CUCM to forward the call if the phone is not visible on the network as would be the case with a WAN failure between the offices.

If you assign the number assigned to the remote office FXO line as the Call Forward Unregistered destination then calls to that phone will be redirected over the PSTN to the remote office.

You have already identified the main issue with this in that only one call is supported per FXO line.

Please rate if helpful.

View solution in original post

7 Replies 7

Rob Huffman
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hi Linda,

No worries :) In your example the Analog Trunk would term on an FXO Port;

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/prod/collateral/voicesw/ps6788/vcallcon/ps2169/prod_qas0900aecd8028d113.html

Cisco Unified SRST System Administrator Guide

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/voice_ip_comm/cusrst/admin/srst/configuration/guide/srstsa.html

Hope this helps!

Rob