Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. And see here for current known issues.

CUCM 7 into VOIP network

Hello,

First  off I am new to VOIP...so with that, I just installed CUCM 7 (old I  know, but it's for my home lab).  I was wondering how I intergrate it  into my existing network.  I've been google'ing and searching for weeks  now, and I can't seem to figure it out.

Do  I make that CUCM 7 server the gateway, or leave that on the router?   and then how do I get my phones to register on the CUCM and not my  router? What is the best way to config my router to work with the CUCM?

Thanks for any advice/help.  Configuration examples help a lot.

Everyone's tags (2)
20 REPLIES

CUCM 7 into VOIP network

Do  I make that CUCM 7 server the gateway, or leave that on the  router?   and then how do I get my phones to register on the CUCM and  not my  router?

No you dont need to make CUCM as the gateway. To register phones - add the phones in the CUCM. Under your DHCP scope for the Voice VLAN or your phones you need to enter the tftp server information - enter this command under the DHCP - option 150 ip x.x.x.x

What is the best way to config my router to work with the CUCM?

The routers are added in the CUCM as Voice gateways. You can use H323/MGCP/SIP. Since you are new MGCP is the easiest one and below link has all the information.

https://supportforums.cisco.com/community/netpro/collaboration-voice-video/ip-telephony/blog/2011/11/27/implementing-pstn-gateways-in-cucm

I would also encourage you to go through the below document to expand your knowledge:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/voice_ip_comm/cucm/srnd/7x/uc7_0.html

Terry

CUCM 7 into VOIP network

So on my router, all I need to do is:

ip dhcp pool Phones

network 192.168.0.0 255.255.255.0

option 150 ip 192.168.0.119