CUCM/Unity Connection/IPCC Upgrade Advice Request

gmgarrian
Level 4
Level 4

I have a client who currently has this setup:

1 CUCM 4.2(3)sr3 Publisher Server

1 CUCM 4.2(3)sr3 Subscriber Server

1 Unity Connection 1.2(1) Server

1 IPCC Server v 4.0SR01_Build029  -this server is for SQL queries for credit reports

2 2811 Routers with C2800NM-IPVOICEK9-M IOS, 12.4(8c) Release Software (fc3)

1 2801 Router with C2801-SPServicesK9-M IOS, 12.4(8c), Relase Software (fc3)  -This is at a remote site.

I'm looking for advice on the best upgrade path specifically regarding the IPCC which is EOL/EOS.  I have heard that the new version of Cisco's IPCC software is integrated, or an addon for Unity. Are there any feasible upgrade paths?  Would the entire environment need to be upgraded?  Is an upgrade even possible given the current (old) versions?

I have done CUCM installs but not upgrades/migrations and I have no experience with IPCC.  Any thoughts or advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Greg

35 Replies 35

David Hailey
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Greg,

I'll have to look at the upgrade paths available in general to you but I caught one thing I wanted to touch on upfront.  You said that you "heard that new versions of IPCC were integrated with, or an add-on, of Unity" - I don't know where that is coming from.  There is a little bith of overlap in Auto Attendant functionality but not much - if you need a simple AA with no reporting or queueing, Unity has always had that.  IPCC is still a call center product and is not integrated with or dependent upon Unity.  Personally, I'd get all of the applications up to 7x.  This will require quite a bit of work and possibly some new hardware but you're running on threads with IPCC 4.0 and CUC 1x.  There are have been many improvements in both products and the Linux-based CUCM platforms are golden compared to the older Windows-based systems.

Hailey

Please rate helpful posts!

Hi David,

Thanks for the quick reply!