Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. And see here for current known issues.

Fax through MGCP PRI to a Cisco VG224?

Hi

I am having some issues with getting some faxes correctly through my Cisco 2911 PRI and out from a VG224 into a One-box Faxserver. The One-box is a fax server that makes them into pdf files. The files looks like someone have crumbled the paper before it went into the conversion process. Faxes that go straight from fax to fax work ok.

I have little knowledge when it comes to fax and passthrough and relay so I really need some help here.

On the MGCP gateway and the VG224 should Cisco FAX relay and T38 FAX relay be enabled?

In the router config should the "modem passthrough nse codec g711ulaw" exist?

All help is appreciated.

Regards

Eirik

8 REPLIES

No one?

Super Bronze

Hi

What version of CUCM are you running?

What IOS on the 2911 and VG224?

What commands you should have on there depend on whether you want to use t.38 or passthrough. If you have recent software versions I'd probably start with T.38.

Aaron

Aaron Please remember to rate helpful posts to identify useful responses, and mark 'Answered' if appropriate!

Hi Aaron.

Sorry for the lack of info.

I am on CUCM 8.0.3 with the 2911 on 15.0(1)M4 and the VG224 I think is the same. I am not currently onsite. Everything is about a year old.

Could be that the fax-server is using T38 yes. So I can't run both t.38 and passthrough and have the end equipment figure it out......? Sorry I am blank on this subject.

Regards

Eirik

Super Bronze

Hi

I'd try T.38 in that case then.

Re: the fax-server, it connects to analogue ports, so it doesn't know or care what T.38 is. T.38 runs only on the part of the call betwen your VG224 and the 2911.

Assuming both are MGCP, do this on both:

no mgcp fax t38 inhibit